HAVE ANY QUESTION ? CALL/TEXT/WHATSAPP : +1 (347) 661-3010
how to recall an email in gmail

A Basic Guide on How to Recall an Email in Gmail in 2021?

Do you want to know about How to Recall an Email in Gmail, so this is the right place!

Maybe it could have been late at night, and you were feeling overwhelmed or unappreciated at work.

Or, perhaps it was that difficult customer that just keeps getting on your nerves and won’t leave you alone.

You intended to erase a nastygram after it was sent, but you suddenly realized it had been sent and there was nothing you could do about it.

Maybe you made a more straightforward error, such as adding the incorrect link, attaching the incorrect document, or failing to convert the copy to BCC. Small errors, on the other hand, might lead to major issues (like if you accidentally sent an email with sensitive information to the wrong person).

Email delivery is quick, but it has drawbacks. Once you send an email, it is no longer in your control. But we all make mistakes, and Google understands. Gmail has a tool called Undo Send that allows you to cancel a send request to assist you out. It used to be that you had to turn it on manually, but now it’s turned on by default.

Thankfully, in Gmail, there’s a simple way to recall an email.

Let’s go into the details, so you don’t have to stress over your email mistakes. Learn how to:

Setup the Email Cancellation Period:

Gmail gives you a 5-second window to recall an email after you hit the send button by default. If this isn’t long enough, you’ll need to increase the amount of time Gmail keeps emails pending before sending them. (Emails can’t be recovered after that.)

You can’t adjust the length of this cancellation period in the Gmail app, unfortunately. This can be done using your Windows 10 PC or Mac’s Settings menu in Gmail on the web.

1. Go to your Gmail account’s settings page.

The good news is that when you send an email on Gmail, the “Undo” button will show automatically. Hurrah!

You may, however, change the undo settings in Gmail to allow yourself even more time to recall an email.

To begin, go into your Gmail account on a computer. Click the small gear icon in the upper right-hand corner once you’ve arrived. A menu will appear; pick “Settings” from that menu:

how to recall an email in gmail

2. Customize the time between your send cancellation:

The “Undo” option appears in Gmail soon after you send an email.

After you send an email, this button will only be active for five seconds by default. That isn’t a lot of time to realize and correct a mistake.

Thankfully, Gmail allows you to extend that time limit. Scroll down to the option that reads “Undo Send” once you’re in settings.

(Make sure you’re on the “General” tab of the settings.)

email

After your email is sent, you can select to display the “Undo” option for 5, 10, 20, or 30 seconds.

If you’re concerned about accidentally sending the incorrect email, you should set the cancellation period to at least 10 seconds. Five seconds isn’t enough to realize you’ve committed a mistake and use the Undo button.

So, how much time do you have before the email is permanently imprinted in the inbox of your recipient? That is all up to you.

But, let’s face it, 30 seconds on the “Undo” button isn’t going to hurt anyone.

3. Click “Save Changes after scrolling down:

After you’ve customized your Gmail account’s undo time, scroll to the bottom of the page and save your changes:

This is crucial because it’s all too simple to click away without preserving your modifications.

Press the “Save Changes” option at the bottom of the menu once you’ve adjusted the cancellation period.

4. Put your email recall to the test.

Now that you’ve modified your Gmail settings, it’s time to put your memory to the test. Send yourself a test email.

When the email is sent, this will appear in the bottom left-hand corner:

You now have between five and thirty seconds to recall that email in Gmail, depending on the settings you chose.

You’ll get proof that the email has been recalled once you hit the “Undo” button:

The cancellation time you choose will apply to your whole Google account, including emails sent through Gmail on the web as well as emails sent through the Gmail app on iPhoneiPad, or Android devices.

Recalling an Email in Gmail from Desktop

If you want to cancel an email sent through Gmail, you must do it within the cancellation period for your account. This time period begins when you press the “Send” button.

To undo an email, click the “Undo” button on the “Message Sent” pop-up, which is available in the bottom-left corner of the Gmail web window.

You will not be able to recall the email if you miss it or close the pop-up by clicking the “X” button.

The “Undo” option will disappear after the cancellation period has expired, and the email will be delivered to the recipient’s mail server, where it will be permanently deleted.

Recalling an Email in Gmail on Mobile Devices

When using the Gmail app on your iPhoneiPad, or Android devices, the method for recalling an email is similar. A black pop-up box will display at the bottom of your screen once you send an email using Google’s email client, indicating that the email has been sent.

On the right-hand side of this pop-up, you’ll see an “Undo” button. Within the cancellation period, hit this button to stop the email from being sent.

If you press “Undo,” the email will be recalled, and you’ll be taken back to the app’s “Compose” draught screen. After that, you can edit your email, store it as a draught, or delete it completely.

It doesn’t matter what kind of email you’re sending; you need to be sure it’s done correctly. In a professional situation, being disrespectful or insensitive should never be an option, especially when sending an email to a customer or client.

Every email is crucial, even if you’re just checking in. These are the foundations of your company’s relationships with its clients and customers. Your comments have the power to either grow and support such relationships, or to rip months (or years) of hard effort apart.

Know that if you send an email that has a major error, you can always retrieve it in Gmail.

Better yet, review your emails before sending them; this way, you’ll never send an email you’ll regret.

Share:
Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href=""> <abbr> <acronym> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>